Creating a Children’s Chapter Book 16: The Crowd Edit

Chapter 10 went out this week. There are 12 chapters in the book, so the crowd edit will be over soon. I’m a little sad, as I’m enjoying the whole process. I’ve learned a lot about how the book works (or didn’t) and have been able to tighten up the story. I’ve found the yawning chasms in my grammar education. My self-taught design skills have been given a major boost by someone who knows their way around a page (Hello, Jane!). All in all, it has been an enriching experience and I’m indebted to my volunteer editors.

It’s hard to illustrate this kind of post, but here are some screenshots from one of the younger editors, Ciadh. He makes some great points!

A fair question, though the truth is that the club members talk about FAB club outside of FAB club a lot!

A fair question, though the truth is that the club members talk about FAB club outside of FAB club a lot!

FAB-rules

FAB-relatable-to-kids

FAB-membership-money

Me too.

Me too.

About ahallatt

Cartoonist and writer. My first illustrated chapter book, FAB (Friends Against Bullying) Club, for kids 8-12 is out on Amazon. More at alexhallatt.com
This entry was posted in FAB Club, Producing a Chapter Book, Producing a Middle Grade Book and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

